Author Topic: Assembling powertrain...  (Read 610 times)

aarvig

• Hurricane Owner
    • View Profile
    • Email
Assembling powertrain...
« on: March 23, 2017, 04:23:35 pm »
Hey guys!
I am in Arizona for the rest of this week and next but when I get back I am planning on assembling the engine/trans and installing it.  Ive got a 427w that I am mating to a Tremec TKO 600.  I have NEVER done this before.  I have a few questions...
1.) Should I use red or blue Loc-Tite and on which bolts?  Flywheel, clutch, bellhousing, etc...
2.) Dial indicating the bell housing...this looks intimidating but is it really?  Any tips?
3.) Can I assemble this thing while it is hanging on my engine hoist?
4.) Does the x-brace need to be in to support the trans immediately or can the trans "hang" on the engine?  If so, what size bolts do I need on the x-brace.  (I didn't see a reference in the manual...maybe I missed it somewhere.)
That is it for now...hopefully my next pics are of the motor and trans IN!
Thanks guys!!
Now I lay rubber down the street, I pray for traction I can keep, but if I spin and begin to slide, please dear Lord, protect my hide.

Paul Proefrock

• Administrator
  • HM 1078
    • View Profile
    • 65SHLB Build Info
    • Email
Re: Assembling powertrain...
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2017, 09:10:06 pm »
1) I don't use Red Loctite anywhere. It takes heat to get it apart and definitely is not user friendly

2) Biggest problem to indicating the housing is having the correct magnetic stand that will allow your dial indicator to turn with the crank yet still reach the hole for the transmission.  It can get confusing. Either read up on it, keep a copy of the instructions handy and hopefully, have a helper who has done it before or is mechanically inclined.